Sakuraba, Yoko and a confused Judoka

So back in January last year. The Forge started to offer additional classes including Karate, Forms and Judo. Recently Atemi Jitsu was also added.

Now some of you may know the first ever martial art I undertook was judo. I stopped when I broke my hand when I was 17 (having trained for about 6 months)

The judo is taken by a good friend and bjj blue belt Ming Wong.

Anyway, back to the point.

Today I took my first ever grading in judo. I have been training since jan last year and was really nervous. Not in the techniques, but in the Japanese translation and terminology.

Which ukemi is yoko? Is it barai or harai?

I was so confused.

When it came to the grading I panicked and translated a breakfall whilst demonstrating a completely different one.

Luckily I calmed down and got through the rest fine. I am really happy with how I got on.

In practical terms I feel that my bjj has improved due to my cross training. I dont mind stand up now and my grip has improved.

Here’s to the first steps on the road that ultimately leads to a more proficient grappler.

Gregg

About Flex McCash

Bjj black belt. Cake ninja and generally nice guy........ apparently Things I have achieved: Gracie Invertational - Gold Medal (White Belt) Northern BJJ Open - Silver Medal (Blue Belt) British Open - Bronze Medal (Purple Belt) Mulitple other medals in UMA, No Gi Grappling, and FILA Comps People I have had the Honour of training with: From Gracie Barra: Lucio Lagarto Lucio Sergio Braulio Estima Victor Estima Carlos Gracie Jnr Roger Gracie Gabriel Kitober Octavio Souza Others: Reyson Gracie Royce Gracie Rodrigo Gracie Mike Bisping Gazzy Parman Larry Hartsall
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

