Learn less, Know more…

Right so quick recap:-

2 weeks a go i was ill, so no training.

last week i was away on holiday, so no training…….

so to my return.

I thought that the best idea to get back into training mode was to avoid the live sparing classes and get a few normal classes in, just to get my eye in.

So when i got back i jumped in both feet first and found my self in the friday night LIVE SPARING CLASS. yes i know i dont listen to myself.

After some really hard fights i was feeling ok, this turned into an hours sparing with John Goldson (our instructor and brown belt) a few months a go i found that John just destroyed me, but now he still destroys me but at least now i understand why he is beating me….

So on to today, again the first class was an hours live sparing. My main aim from now on is to try and be dominant from the onset, i am guilty of being lazy when i spar (pulling guard then playing a long grips battle before actually attacking) so i wanted to change the way i fight and become the aggressor, moving faster and better to control my partner, but only using strength when absolutely the last resort. TECHNIQUE, TECHNIQUE, TECHNIQUE 

My only reservation with this strategy is that i am big, heavy and clumsy, i am truly scared of hurting someone in training, if i slip when passing guard or fall when attempting the take down i could land my considerable weight on my partners leg/arm/chest/neck causing harm.

So it was that i set about my first sparing session with my new ethos of DOMINATE-NICELY.

I found that my new style was working well, i felt good and wasnt gassing as quickly as normal. Thanks to all my partners who were sparing with me today. I will try to continue this train of progression.

The second class was the new Purple belt and above class, this is a class John has chosen to add as we now have a good sized group of purple belts in the club. Today it was…. guess what….. sparing, so again i used my new found attitude of dominant niceness. The difference with this class is that we start from standing and anyone not sparing is asked to watch and provide useful feedback to the fighters.

We spared for an hour, rotating through partners and some very useful points were raised and some good fights took place. After we discussed our own thoughts and reflected on our individual games.

so to the “Learn Less, Know More”

Sometimes we have to step back and refine the techniques we have, to make them fit into our game, to make sure we understand them to the point of automatic reaction. Before racing forward and trying to tick all the boxes in the lady bird book of submissions.

“it is better to aim high and miss, than aim low and hit”

ps

Id just like to say a big SEE YA to our favourite Kiwi as Hayden is going back to the land down under for a few years, i wish him and Jade the best of luck and hope to see them soon.

SEE YA KOBBA

AND DONT FORGET THE CRAZY GI COMP, FOLLOW THE LINK FOR A CHANCE TO WIN A CUSTOM MADE GI

http://www.facebook.com/?sk=2361831622#!/group.php?gid=149631695063160

About Flex McCash

Bjj black belt. Cake ninja and generally nice guy........ apparently Things I have achieved: Gracie Invertational - Gold Medal (White Belt) Northern BJJ Open - Silver Medal (Blue Belt) British Open - Bronze Medal (Purple Belt) Mulitple other medals in UMA, No Gi Grappling, and FILA Comps People I have had the Honour of training with: From Gracie Barra: Lucio Lagarto Lucio Sergio Braulio Estima Victor Estima Carlos Gracie Jnr Roger Gracie Gabriel Kitober Octavio Souza Others: Reyson Gracie Royce Gracie Rodrigo Gracie Mike Bisping Gazzy Parman Larry Hartsall
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

